Anthropozän
Anthropozän
© Anna-Maria Löffelberger

Anthropocene

Stuart MacRae

Libretto by Louise Welsh / In English with German surtitles

Austrian premiere 05/16/2021 / Salzburg State Theatre

Synopsis

On an expedition to the Polar Circle, a research ship is trapped in pack ice. Tensions arise in the team and the relationships between the researchers are put to the test. Everything changes when the scientists discover a frozen being in the icy wilderness. The ice breaks – and a thrilling tale of climate change unfolds.

The “Anthropocene” is the era dominated by humanity and the Arctic has long been a symbol for the indisputable and seemingly unstoppable destructive influence of human civilisation. The protagonists represent humanity, crowded together as if on an ark: The ship of rich tycoon Harry King is populated by the scientists, the shipowner’s daughter, a shady journalist and a few sailors. The plot reads like that of a thriller and would make a fine script for a film about climate change. Egotism, jealousy and incompetence lead to disaster on the ship. Louise Welsh’s enthralling libretto is further intensified by the dense, independently powerful musical language of Scottish composer Stuart MacRae, in which dissonances and melody compete with each other and intertwine in film-like passages.

The work premiered at the Scottish Opera to enthusiastic reviews celebrating its “unrelenting dramatic tension and superb storytelling”. Opera Now was full of praise for this “opera for the 21st century opera”, The Herald pointed out its “cinematic score” and the London Times described it as “gripping music theatre”.

Stuart MacRae (*1976) is often cited as one of the most interesting contemporary composers. He received commissions from the London Sinfonietta and the BBC Proms early in his career and became Composer in Residence at the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra. “Anthropocene” is his third collaboration with librettist Louise Welsh, who is also known for her mystery thrillers.

Musical director Leslie Suganandarajah conducts the Continental European premiere of this exciting new opera and Agnessa Nefjodov is only the second director to mount “Anthropocene” after its world premiere. She has collaborated with designer Eva Musil and others for her previous productions in Salzburg, including Hossam Mahmoud’s opera “18 Days...” about the Egyptian revolution and Bellini’s “La Sonnambula”.

Selected performance

Tu 06/08/2021 07.30 pm

Salzburger Landestheater

Cast (on 06/08/2021)

Musical Director Leslie Suganandarajah

Director Agnessa Nefjodov

State Design Eva Musil

Costume Design Nicole von Graevenitz

Musikalische Assistenz Gabriel Venzago

Musikalische Einstudierung Wolfgang Götz


Orchester Mozarteumorchester Salzburg

Anthropozän
Anthropozän
© Anna-Maria Löffelberger

Anthropozän

Stuart MacRae

Libretto von Louise Welsh / In Englisch mit deutschen Übertiteln

Österreichische Erstaufführung 16.05.2021 / Landestheater

Inhalt

Auf einer Expedition am Polarkreis wird ein Forschungsschiff vom ewigen Eis eingeschlossen. Im Forschungsteam entstehen Spannungen und die Beziehungen werden auf eine harte Probe gestellt. Als die Wissenschaftler in der Eiswüste ein gefrorenes Lebewesen entdecken, verändert sich alles. Das Eis bricht – es beginnt ein Thriller des Klimawandels.

Das „Anthropozän“ ist das Zeitalter, das von den Menschen dominiert wird. Die Arktis ist längst zum Symbol für den unübersehbaren und scheinbar unaufhaltsamen zerstörerischen Einfluss der menschlichen Zivilisation geworden. Die Menschheit ist hier wie auf einer Arche zusammengedrängt: Auf dem Schiff des superreichen Harry King versammeln sich ein Paar Wissenschaftler, die Tochter des Eigners, ein zwielichtiger Journalist und einige Seeleute. Die Handlung entwickelt sich in der Manier eines Thrillers, der Drehbuch für einen Kinofilm über den Klimawandel sein könnte. Egoismus, Eifersucht und Inkompetenz führen zum Desaster auf dem Schiff. Das spannende Libretto von Louise Welsh wird durch die dichte, eigenständig starke Tonsprache des schottischen Komponisten Stuart MacRae verstärkt, in der Dissonanz und Melodie gegeneinander antreten und in filmisch anmutenden Passagen miteinander verwoben werden.

Nach der Uraufführung an der Scottish Opera zeigte sich die Presse begeistert und konstatiert „packende, dramatische Spannung und superbe dramatische Handlungsführung“. Opera now lobt die „Oper für das 21. Jahrhundert“, The Herald hebt die „cinematische Partitur“ hervor, während die London Times „ergreifendes Musiktheater“ anerkennt.

Stuart MacRae (*1976) gilt als einer der interes­santesten zeitgenössischen Komponisten. Schon früh erhielt er Aufträge der London Sinfonietta und der BBC Proms und wurde „Composer-in-residence“ beim BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra. „Anthropozän“ ist seine dritte Oper mit Librettistin Louise Welsh, die sich auch als Krimi­autorin einen Namen gemacht hat.

Musikdirektor Leslie Suganandarajah dirigiert die kontinentaleuropäische Erstaufführung dieser spannenden Oper und Agnessa Nefjodov inszeniert „Anthropozän“ als erst zweite Produktion nach der Uraufführung. Sie setzte in Salzburg mit Ausstatterin Eva Musil u. a. die ägyptische Revolutionsoper  „18 Tage …..“ von Hossam Mahmoud und  „La Sonnambula“ von Bellini in Szene.

Ausgewählter Termin

Di. 08.06.2021 19.30

Salzburger Landestheater

Besetzung (am 08.06.2021)

Musikalische Leitung Leslie Suganandarajah

Inszenierung Agnessa Nefjodov

Bühne Eva Musil

Kostüme Nicole von Graevenitz

Musikalische Assistenz Gabriel Venzago

Musikalische Einstudierung Wolfgang Götz


Orchester Mozarteumorchester Salzburg