Die Anschläge von nächster Woche
Die Anschläge von nächster Woche
© Anna-Maria Löffelberger

Die Anschläge von nächster Woche

Thomas Arzt

Austrian premiere 17. March 2022 / Kammerspiele

Synopsis

A trail of horror is blazing through Europe. Paris, Nice, Berlin, St. Petersburg, London, Brussels, Vienna: There is hardly any city that has been spared bombings, arson and knife attacks, shootings and killing sprees. Wherever terrorism was raging in Europe in the last few years, Armin Stummer was there. An unfortunate coincidence? The inconspicuous lighting engineer is arrested by investigator Göttinger on New Year’s Eve. But Stummer’s puzzling itinerary is fixed by his boss André Tartini. The charismatic and exceptional artist enraptures audiences with his mystic shows. His events give them a chance to let go of all the worries and anxieties that rule their everyday lives. Tartini collects the fears of his audience and uses them to grow fascinating vines sprouting the most wonderful flowers. Until disaster strikes again.

Fear is a powerful emotion and has as many faces as there are people. Wherever it surfaces from a diffuse substrate, it blasts the solid ground of civilised societies. – “When fears become encrusted, they grow trunks that reason cannot saw through.” – But what came first? Fear or terrorism? In a thriller that is as gripping as it is poetic and filled with distrust, manipulation and uncertainty, Thomas Arzt traces the basic structures of fear that can disintegrate individuals and societies.

 

In his plays, Austrian author Thomas Arzt (*1983) explores current and socially relevant topics in a poetic manner. His texts have been translated into several languages and performed at festivals in New York, Buenos Aires and Kiev. He has also written radio plays and political essays. He received the Upper Austrian Art Award for Brave Literature in 2020. His first novel, “Die Gegenstimme”, will be published in 2021.

Christina Piegger, a Tyrolean, has staged many productions as the Salzburg State Theatre’s resident director since 2016. She gave her main stage debut as a director with Lucio Gregoretti’s opera “La Fugitive” in 2018. Together with Rolando Villazón she staged the 2020 world premiere of “Mozart Moves! Seven Short Play”, a co-operation of the Mozarteum Foundation and the Salzburg State Theatre. She also directed Mozart’s “Magic Flute” in Passau in the autumn of 2020.

Die Anschläge von nächster Woche
Die Anschläge von nächster Woche
© Anna-Maria Löffelberger

Die Anschläge von nächster Woche

Thomas Arzt

Österreichische Erstaufführung 17. März 2022 / Kammerspiele

Inhalt

Eine Spur des Schreckens zieht sich durch Europa. Paris, Nizza, Berlin, St. Petersburg, London, Brüssel, Wien. Kaum eine Stadt bleibt verschont von Bombenattentaten, Brandstiftung, Messerattacken, Schießereien und Amokläufen. Wann immer in den letzten Jahren der Terror in Europa wütete, war Armin Stummer vor Ort. Ein unglücklicher Zufall? Am Silvesterabend wird der unscheinbare Lichttechniker von Ermittlerin Göttinger gestellt. Doch Grund für Stummers rätselhafte Reiseroute ist dessen Arbeitgeber André Tartini. Der charismatische Ausnahmekünstler begeistert mit seinen mystischen Shows die Menschen. Bei seinen Veranstaltungen können sie alle Sorgen und Beklemmungen, die ihren Alltag bestimmen, loslassen. Tartini sammelt die Ängste seines Publikums und lässt daraus faszinierende Gewächse wuchern und prächtige Blüten sprießen. Bis wieder etwas passiert.

Angst ist eine mächtige Emotion und vielgestaltig wie die Charaktere der Menschen. Wo sie aus dem diffusen Untergrund hervorbricht, sprengt sie den festen Grund des zivilisierten Miteinanders. – „Wenn die Angst sich verkrustet. Das sind Stämme, die sägt keine Vernunft mehr nieder.“ – Doch was ist zuerst da? Die Angst oder der Terror? In einem ebenso packenden wie poetischen Krimi voll Misstrauen, Manipulation und Ungewissheit, geht Thomas Arzt den grundlegenden Strukturen der Angst nach, die Gesellschaft und Individuen zersetzt.

 

Der österreichische Autor Thomas Arzt (*1983) setzt sich in seinen Stücken auf poetische Weise mit gesellschaftlich relevanten Themen der Gegenwart auseinander. Seine Texte wurden in mehrere Sprachen übersetzt und auf Festivals in New York, Buenos Aires und Kiew gezeigt. Daneben verfasste er Hörspiele und politische Essays. 2020 erhielt er den Oberösterreichischen Kunstpreis für mutige Literatur. 2021 erscheint sein erster Roman „Die Gegenstimme“.

Die Tirolerin Christina Piegger setzte als Hausregisseurin des Salzburger Landestheaters seit 2016 zahlreiche Produktionen in Szene und gab mit der Oper „Flüchtling“ von Lucio Gregoretti 2018 ihr Regiedebüt auf der großen Bühne. Gemeinsam mit Rolando Villazón inszenierte sie 2020 die Uraufführung „Mozart Moves! Sieben Dramolette“ als Kooperation von Stiftung Mozarteum und Salzburger Landestheater. Im Herbst 2020 führte sie in Passau Regie bei Mozarts „Zauberflöte“.