Heldenplatz
Heldenplatz
© Christina Baumann-Canaval

Heldenplatz

Thomas Bernhard

Premiere 19/04/2020 / Salzburg State Theatre

Synopsis

On 15 March 1938, Adolf Hitler announced the “Anschluss”, Austria’s annexation into Nazi Germany, at Vienna’s Heldenplatz to cheers from the crowds. 50 years later, the Schusters, a Jewish family, gather with their closest friends at an apartment near Heldenplatz. It is the day of the funeral of Professor Josef Schuster. The philosopher and intellectual, who had been driven away by the Nazis and had returned from Oxford to teach at the university on the entreaties of the mayor of Vienna in the 1950s, saw no other way than to commit suicide, because to him the situation in present-day Austria seemed “much worse than fifty years ago”.

Bernhard’s text painfully highlighted open wounds in the Republic. Less than a decade before Austria joined the EU, the country had just elected Kurt Waldheim as its president, whose role during the era of National Socialism had been the subject of heated debates. Austria’s political self-conception as Hitler’s “first victim” eventually gave way to a more sober reflection of the country’s enthusiastic participation. The publication of the play and its world premiere on 4 November 1988, directed by Claus Peymann, caused one of the greatest (theatre) scandals in Austria’s post-war history. Bernhard’s biting criticism of Austria as a symbol of stupidity, narrow-mindedness and ostracising, fascist-like structures still hurts, even – and especially – today.

In 1988 Claus Peymann, then Artistic Director of the Vienna Burgtheater, commissioned Thomas Bernhard (1931–1989) to write a play to mark the 100th anniversary of the theatre’s opening. The content of the play was to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the “Anschluss”. After some initial hesitation, Thomas Bernhard wrote “Heldenplatz”. Prior to the world premiere, excerpts of the text caused a scandal – the play was said to insult Austria and exceed the limitations of what was tolerable.

Alexandra Liedtke has convinced Salzburg audiences of her prowess as a director in both the drama (“Intrigue and Love”, “Don Carlos”, “Hamlet”) and the music theatre divisions (“The Tales of Hoffmann”, “La Gazzetta”). The director, who has spent many years in Vienna, traces the Austrian scandal surrounding “Heldenplatz” together with stage designer Eva Musil. Costume designer Johanna Lakner, who also works for the Vienna Burgtheater, completes the powerful female team.

Introductory Talk: 30 and 45 min before curtain up

Heldenplatz
Heldenplatz
© Christina Baumann-Canaval

Heldenplatz

Thomas Bernhard

Premiere: 19.04.2020 / Landestheater

Inhalt

Am 15. März 1938 verkündete Adolf Hitler unter den Jubelrufen der anwesenden Wiener auf dem Heldenplatz den „Anschluss“ Österreichs an Deutschland. 50 Jahre später treffen in einer Wohnung in der Nähe des Heldenplatzes die jüdische Familie Schuster und deren engste Freunde zusammen. Der Anlass: das Begräbnis von Professor Josef Schuster. Für diesen philosophischen Kopf, von den Nazis verjagt, in den fünfziger Jahren auf Bitten des Wiener Bürgermeisters aus Oxford auf seinen Lehrstuhl zurückgekehrt, gab es keinen anderen Ausweg als den Selbstmord. Denn die Situation im gegenwärtigen Österreich sei „noch viel schlimmer als vor fünfzig Jahren“.

Bernhards Text legte den Finger auf offene Wunden der Republik, die ein knappes Jahrzehnt vor Österreichs Beitritt zur EU gerade Kurt Waldheim zum Bundes­präsidenten gewählt hatte, dessen Rolle während der Zeit des National­sozialismus zu erregten Diskussionen geführt hatte. Die politische Position Österreichs als „erstes Opfer“ Hitlers musste der nüchternen Betrachtung der begeisterten Beteiligung weichen. Und so wurde die Veröffentlichung des Stückes sowie seine Uraufführung am 4. November 1988 durch Claus Peymann zu einem der größten (Theater-)Skandale in der Nachkriegsgeschichte Österreichs. Bernhards beißende Kritik an dem Österreich, das für Dummheit, Engstirnigkeit und ausgrenzende faschistoide Strukturen steht, schmerzt bis – und besonders – heute.

Im Jahr 1988, zum 100. Jubiläum der „Burg“, beauftragte Claus Peymann, damals Direktor des Wiener Burgtheaters, Thomas Bernhard (1931–1989) damit, ein Werk zu schreiben. Inhaltlich sollte es sich mit dem Bedenkjahr anlässlich des „Anschlusses“ Österreichs beschäftigen. Thomas Bernhard schrieb nach einigem Zögern das Stück „Heldenplatz“. Im Vorfeld der Uraufführung kam es zu einem Skandal um den Text – er beschimpfe Österreich und überschreite die Grenzen des Zumutbaren.

Alexandra Liedtke hat mit ihren Inszenierungen in Salzburg sowohl im Schauspiel („Kabale und Liebe“, „Don Carlos“, „Hamlet“) als auch im Musiktheater („Hoffmanns Erzählungen“, „La Gazzetta“) überzeugt. Die Regisseurin, die lange in Wien gelebt hat, macht sich gemeinsam mit der Ausstatterin Eva Musil auf Spurensuche des österreichischen Skandals „Heldenplatz“. Das starke Frauenteam wird ergänzt durch die Kostümbildnerin Johanna Lakner, die unter anderem für das Burgtheater Wien arbeitet.

Werkeinführungen: 30 und 45 min vor Beginn